Thoughts on a Sunday evening…

Sunday Oct 09 2011

A blank page…… oh how I hate blank pages, it pressures me into thinking oh my god what am I going to write here….. is there anything at all?

Which of course usually results in me procrastinating, or awaiting inspiration of some kind, seriously how gullible can we be? honestly, writing doesn’t just ‘occur’ to you, I guess the actual act of writing can be enough to make you think of something interesting, or even if its not I think the idea is that you write anyway, no matter what happens, try not to criticize what you are writing as you write it because then it can lead to your brain freezing. It might be that you tell yourself that you will never be able to write anything anybody will want to read, and you may be right, or not. At the end of the day, does it even matter?

The trick is to write I guess. Just Write what your thinking down and let the muse take you anywhere it wants to.

It’s sometimes even hard to write something like this down, because even now, I want to judge it see whether it is worthy of my attention for long and that in itself is a bad thing, because it can lead down the path to not writing at all and of course, if you don’t write at all, how will you ever learn to write?

I’m going to post this up to my blog, just as a snippet from my thoughts tonight and it needs a new post too 😉

3 Responses to “Thoughts on a Sunday evening…”


  1. Do all writers have these thoughts? It seems like the same things go through my mind too. It’s nice to know I am not alone in this fight!

    • LisaM Says:

      Oh, terribly sorry for the delay there! I thought WordPress would usually notify of pending comments, obviously not on this occasion though 😦

      Thank you for taking the time to respond to my post!

      Lisa

      • LisaM Says:

        and no, I certainly don’t think we are alone!
        so I will generally just write on the top line “I hate blank pages…” or something similar 😉 exactly like above indeed – I didn’t edit that from my original Penzu post. It works really well I find, for cranking out Journal, or blog posts. My latest is also from my Penzu 🙂 go figure!


Leave a Reply

