When words seem flat…

Monday Sep 14 2009

As most of you reading this will know, my latest WiP is an article based on the business I’ve spent the last 5 years of my life in, games testing, the business and background of it. So let me be the first to tell you, its BORING – but the prospect of selling it to a magazine and having my first ever published article are very strong motivators. So I do my best, hammering out the Raw words that someday will become an article when I find the right way to shape and present it.

I’ve recently been reading through a copy of “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron and “All A Twitter” by Tee Morris and even “The Magician” by Raymond E Feist. So yes, I’ve been doing a lot of reading as well as writing. The most interesting to note here however is “The Artist’s Way” this is a book about unlocking your inner creative self, its not about how to be a writer/painter/screenwriter its simply about unlocking the creative energy inside, and believe me when I tell you IT WORKS .

I was sceptical at first, but kept an open mind and did what it asked of me and it astounded me just how much my creative energy is just beneath the surface. Thanks to that book, I started to draw and sketch things, just because I wanted to (its that little voice you should listen to) and it shocked me just how effective I could be at it, letting the creative energy guide the pencil leaving the conciousness behind you’ll find the pictures I completed here: http://www.twitpic.com/photos/lisa107b

But if I take you back to the BORING article, as you know BORING words don’t really flow as wonderfully as creative words but one thing stuns me all the more is that when I’m stuck, I want to draw. Honestly, I have compulsion to draw when the mundane words don’t seem to flow properly and when I do, something wonderful happens – especially if I create something that looks the way its supposed to, the buzz is amazing. I drew a rose today, from a photograph – I hope to post that up to twitpic soon .

I really need to think, is it possible my craft is drawing, rather than writing – maybe both?

One Response to “When words seem flat…”


  1. I do both, but I find it impossible to do them at the same time. I think the brain doesn’t have enough RAM for dual-craft, heehee. What do you sketch? It’d be interesting to see examples of finished art.


Leave a Reply

