Oh My Goodness! (1000 Apologies Oh, Patient Ones!)

Sunday Aug 23 2009

Fully expecting the world to pass by and ignore this little corner of the blogsphere, but seems my expactations are about to be sorely rebuked – I’ve had traffic spikes, oh my!

Okay, so I haven’t written anything in ages but I don’t want to completely sacrifice myself to the Writing gods and godesses. Why? because I feel it best to move on and improve my future performance. If I spend time wallowing about how much I didn’t write, I’ll likely still be wallowing in a months time because I still hadn’t written anything!

“It takes an awful long time to NOT write a book!” – Douglas Adams

So right after this blogpost I’m going back into my story and hopefully come back out with some semblance of wordage, I wont aim high, not right now – smaller goals are more easily attainable, @InkyElbows (Owner of http://www.inkygirl.com) has the 500 word challenge, I think that would suit me well for the moment – so let it be so 🙂 I aim for 500 words each time until I can improve my abilities. Aparantly, its like training your brain for something new and the more you do it, the better you get at it.

During the last session of writing I managed to hammer out 300 words of plot outline all done freewriting style. That’s the kind of writing you just do from the top of your head without thinking about it, and a very useful tool if ever you feel blocked. I think I should start to work on the structure some more and put together some sort of writing outline, maybe seperate out the chapters then individually outline those, if anything it’ll help me start again if -, no, WHEN I get stuck down the line.

I’m very much grateful for Merrilee’s(@MerrileeFaber) help in this, she says I’m a writer to watch and that is something I will try hard to live up to, plus if I’m getting more eyes on my progress, there’s more chance I’ll get more focussed.

That’s it for the ficiton writing, its not the only area I’m trying to break in on – I have a chance now to write an article for a car owner’s club about the progress of a car my husband is working on, an old Reliant Fox – quite a gemstone it seems, there is only 5 in Scotland and only a few hundred ever made!

My husband is trying to get it up and running again, and the progress of that gives me a chance to write something voluntarily for the owner’s club magazine now and hopefully that’ll give me some edge to gaining some paid work in the not-too-distant future!

So, on that positive note, I’m off to get a cuppa and have a look at my story again! 475 words in this blog post, but I wont count that to the target!

Lisa (@Lisa107b)

2 Responses to “Oh My Goodness! (1000 Apologies Oh, Patient Ones!)”


  1. But it does count, your blog. Your blurbs. Try to not focus on the word count if it drives you crazy and just say “I’ll write something, even if it is crap, almost every day.” It works. Even if it is crap. Hee. Good luck!

    • lolagirl10 Says:

      Thanks for the advice!
      The word count doesn’t drive me crazy 😉 I find it a very useful gauging tool! Anyways, off to write some more!


Leave a Reply

